James Armstrong Award

///James Armstrong Award
James Armstrong Award2023-03-31T14:16:15+00:00

The James Armstrong Award was established in 1978 to honor the late University of Illinois professor, James Armstrong, whose leadership fostered a spirit of cooperation between two-year college mathematics teachers and the mathematics faculties at four-year colleges and universities. The award is to be given annually to a four-year college or university professor who continues this tradition of cooperation and assistance with the two-year colleges.


This award is given at the annual IMACC Conference. Nominations need submitted before March 1.

To nominate someone for the James Armstrong Award, simply submit a letter of support to Deanna Welsch, IMACC Awards Committee Chair.

Deanna Welsch
Illinois Central College
One College Dr
East Peoria, IL 61635
(309) 694-5379

If you do not receive confirmation of an nomination, then please follow up with Deanna Welsch.

James Armstrong Award Winners

  • 1982 – Anthony Peressini, University of Illinois
  • 1984 – Arnold Wendt, Western Illinois University
  • 1985 – John Dossey, Illinois State University
  • 1987 – Larry Eggan, Illinois State University
  • 1988 – Albert Otto, Illinois State University
  • 1990 – Robert Hathaway, Illinois State University
  • 1991 – Robert Kuller, Northern Illinois University
  • 1993 – Arunas Dagys, Saint Xavier College
  • 2003 – James R. Olsen, Western Illinois University
  • 2005 – Mary H. Wright, SIU at Carbondale
  • 2023 – Alan Zollman, Indiana University Southeast