James Armstrong Award

The James Armstrong Award was established in 1978 to honor the late University of Illinois professor, James Armstrong, whose leadership fostered a spirit of cooperation between two-year college mathematics teachers and the mathematics faculties at four-year colleges and universities. The award is to be given annually to a four-year college or university professor who continues this tradition of cooperation and assistance with the two-year colleges.


This award is given at the annual IMACC Conference. Nominations need submitted before March 1.

To nominate someone for the James Armstrong Award, simply submit a letter of support to Deanna Welsch, IMACC Awards Committee Chair.

Deanna Welsch
Illinois Central College
One College Dr
East Peoria, IL 61635
(309) 694-5379

If you do not receive confirmation of an nomination, then please follow up with Deanna Welsch.

James Armstrong Award Winners