IMACC News and Notes from the Membership

Randall Gallaher has joined the mathematics faculty at Lewis and Clark College. Randall is community college graduate from Missouri with a Masters degree from Southeast Missouri State University.

Greg Rosik, formerly of Lewis and Clark College has accepted a position at Willmar Community College in Minnesota.

Jason Thrun and Tony Miksa have joined the mathematics faculty at Kishwaukee College.

John Thomas of the College of Lake County recently completed his Ph.D. from the University of Illinois - Chicago.

Prairie State College and Illinois Benedictine University are cohosting the 10th Annual Conference on Technology in Collegiate Mathematics at the Hyatt Regency in Chicago, November 6-9, 1997. If you have questions regarding the program contact Judy Marwick at her address on the IMACC mailing list.

Dr. Sunil Koswatta of Harper College was a participant in the workshop entitled "Infusing Asian Studies into the Undergraduate Curriculum". The workshop was held at the University of Hawaii, July 21 through August 9.

Merc McGowan of Harper College is on sabbatical leave this semester while working on her doctorate at the University of Warwick in England.

Merc McGowan and Phil DeMarois of Harper College have been awarded an Illinois Scientific Literacy Grant for the project "College and High School Parnership for Intermediate Algebra."

This program is designed to meet the needs of older high school students in developmental algebra and is the result of a cooperative effort with eight teachers at four high schools.

George Mader of Rock Valley College has resigned his position with the mathematics department to go to Law School. Roger Hergert has joined the Rock Valley mathematics faculty in George's place.

Chris Niemann and Fred Barber have recently retired from Belleville Area College. Tim Grant and Adam Hall have joined the mathematics faculty. Tim came from a position at Owensboro Community College in Kentucky and Adam was a faculty member at Lower Columbia College in Washington.

Last year's IMACC scholarship recipients were Karen Schwen of Morraine Valley and Scott Paluskia of Illinois Central. Each received $750. Both now attend Illinois State University.