IMACC News and Notes from the Membership

Marvin Johnson of College of Lake County has been appointed Conference Chair for the AMATYC Year 2000 Conference in Chicago.

Phil Demarois of Harper College received one of the first Excellence in Teaching Awards given by AMATYC at Atlanta.

Merc McGowan and Nancy Vrooman of Harper College received an award from NSF for Exemplary Community College Activities related to K-12 Teacher Preparation. Each received a stipend and will attend a conference in Washington as part of the award.

The following community college faculty are serving on the Illinois Articulation Initiative Panel for mathematics majors. Tom Anderson, Malcolm X; Brad Belt, Shawnee; Lisa Benson, Olney Central; Daryl Clevidence, Carl Sandburg; Tom Cochran, Belleville; Lowell Doerder, Black Hawk; Robert Hessel, Rock Valley; Marvin Johnson, Lake County; Jack Mummert, Southeastern Illinois; and Jim Trefzger, Parkland. Jack Mummert of Southeastern and Herb Kasube of Bradley University co-chair this group. In addition there are twelve members of the group from public and private four year institutions and three members from the transfer coordinators group in Illinois.

The 1998 ICTCM Conference will be held November 19-22 at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in New Orleans. The theme is "People, technology and all that Jazz." The emphasis of the conference will be on the enhancement of teaching and learning in the classroom through technology. Principal speakers will have a reduced registration fee of $65. For further information contact Joan Bookbinder at Elgin Community College, telephone 847-697-1000, EXT 7505 or by e-mail at